Hospice Accreditations Help in Choosing a Quality Hospice Provider

Hospice Accreditations

Whether for you or a loved one; at some point in your life, most people will need to know about hospice care. However, with so much information flowing around the internet, it can be hard to determine the best choice for a hospice provider. While your doctor may provide a list of some of the local hospice programs, not all end of life care options are equal.

In order to accurately determine the best choice for you, you will need to:

  • Determine what services you (or your loved one) want and need
  • Talk to a representative from each hospice provider
  • Ensure the provider you choose is accepted by your insurance provider
  • And more

While the Hospice Medicare Benefit can be an essential component in determining what hospice provider you choose, another key component to look into is the provider’s hospice accreditations. To understand a little more about these accredited programs; check out these common hospice accreditation providers below.

Joint Commission

Founded in 1988, the Joint Commission Accreditation program provides access to an unparalleled quality framework hospice providers strive to achieve and to sustain for standardized performance excellence. It is a nationally recognized quality achievement, and provides competitive distinction to over 6,000 different programs including hospice and home care services. In order to earn or maintain this accreditation, a home care or hospice provider must meet specific requirements that ensure quality care and safety for the patient (such as infection control, medication reconciliation, delivery of care, etc.) undergo an onsite survey conducted by industry professionals with a minimum of five years experience in the home care and/or hospice industry (this can include: doctors, pharmacists, registered nurses, and more), as well as pay the required fees.


CHAP, or Community Health Accreditation Partner, has accredited home and community based health care programs for fifty years. In 2014, CHAP was recognized for accrediting more Medicare certified providers than any other accrediting body recognized by the CMS (or Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services). The Standards of Excellence created by CHAP were designed to ensure the best care and services possible by hospice and other health care programs; and were built on the following four principles:

  1. That the organization’s function and structure consistently reinforces its consumer oriented mission
  2. The organization provides high quality care, products, and services.
  3. The facility or organization has sufficient financial, human, and physical resources required to accomplish the stated mission and purpose.
  4. The organization stands for long term growth.


ACHC, or Accreditation Commission for Health Care, is a national organization. It was established in 1986 by home care and alternate site healthcare providers. It is a private, independent, and not-for-profit corporation. Over the years, ACHC has garnered respect and recognition as one of the leading accrediting organizations for healthcare providers. The standards required by the ACHC promote quality services and optimum care for every patient, and uses a patient-focused approach for their entire accreditation process; and since 1986, the Accreditation Commission for Health Care has become known for providing integrity, first class customer service, and amazing value. Their goal is to ensure the best possible experience, and to partner with organizations and healthcare professionals who are seeking accreditation and the very best for their care services.


The National Institute for Jewish Hospice (or NIJH) was founded in 1985 to help those suffering from serious and terminal illnesses and diseases. It includes 52,000 members that comprises of business leaders and professionals. NIJH not only provides accreditation and hospice training each year, but it also serves as a valuable resource and educational center for health care organizations (including hospitals, hospices, medical organizations, home care providers, and more) to help educate them on the challenges and issues associated with providing care to the Jewish terminally ill.

As you select a hospice provider, use accreditations as indicators of quality care. Try using an online comparison tool to quickly see what hospices in your area have these important accreditations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>